Katiba Macina and Boko Haram: including women to what end?

This report is based on interviews with individuals who are or have been associated with these violent extremist groups.

This report analyses why women are associated with katiba Macina in Mali and Boko Haram in Niger, and their place and role in the recruitment, implantation and operation strategies of these violent extremist groups (VEGs). It is the first of two reports based on interviews with women and men who are or have been associated with these groups. The second report examines the implications of the study’s findings for policies and strategies for preventing and countering violent extremism (PCVE) in Mali and Niger and provides recommendations for stakeholders.

About the authors

The research work underpinning this report was conducted collaboratively by the authors, Jeannine Ella A Abatan and Boubacar Sangaré, as well as Nadia Adam, Illiassou Abdoulaye Alio, Ibrahim Maïga, Lori-Anne Théroux-Bénoni, Fonteh Akum, Boukary Sangaré, Modibo Galy Cissé, Amadou (Samba) Cissé, Wali Ag Menani, Aminatou Daouda Hainikoye, Boukari Biri Kassoum, Salifou Noufou and Moussa Mohamed.

Cover image: Amelia Broodryk/ISS

Development partners
This research project was carried out with funding from the International Development Research Centre (IDRC), the UK Conflict, Stability and Security Fund (CSSF) and the Government of Denmark. It also benefited from institutional support from the High Authority for the Consolidation of Peace (HACP) and the University of Diffa in Niger, the Institute of Human Sciences (ISH) and the National Centre for Scientific and Technological Research (CNRST) in Mali. The Institute for Security Studies (ISS) is grateful to the respective Ministries of Justice and the heads of the prison administrations of Mali and Niger for their support in enabling interviews to be conducted in detention centres.

The ISS is also grateful for the support from the following members of the ISS Partnership Forum: the Hanns Seidel Foundation, the European Union and the governments of Australia, Canada, Denmark, Ireland, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden and the USA.
Related content